Monday, February 27, 2012

IAWP Election of Officers 1927 in Cleveland, Ohio

Hello members,
I found some interesting data from elections of officers in May 1927 from the annual Conference in Cleveland, Ohio. I feel that since we are during an election time it might be interesting to those members who are participating.
A amendment was passed for the addition of two Vice-Presidents and a Board of Directors. Miss Eleanor Hutzel, from Detroit Michigan was elected 1st Vice-President and Miss Dorothy Doan Henry from Cleveland, Ohio was elected 2nd Vice-President. The five Board of Directors elected were Miss Henrietta Additon from Philadelphia, PA., Lieutenant John Brandenburger, St. Louis, MO., Miss Jessie Binford, Chicago, Illinois, Dr. Katharine Bement Davis from New York City, and Miss Mary Driscoll from Boston, MA. These 5 represented the Executive Board.
Several regional Chairmen were selected as follows: Miss Anna B. Mangan from Lynn, MA., Mrs. Mary Sullivan from New York City, Miss Annette Steele from Knoxville, TN., Mrs Mable Rockwell from Chicago, IL., Mrs. Beulah McNeil from Kenosha, WI., Mrs. Inah M. Peterson from Witchita, Kansas, and Miss Martha Randall from Portland, OR.
Delegates from 40 cities and 26 states made the annual meeting the largest ever held by the Association. In July of 1927 the Association was incorportated under the laws of the District of Columbia.
This was obtained from the Journal of Social Hygiene Volume XIII 1927.
I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I found it!
email me if you want any further data that I have on hand.

Lt. Carol Scruggs (end of shift 6/25/2010)

Lt. Carol Scruggs (end of shift 6/25/2010)
Marshall County Sheriff's Department