Thursday, March 15, 2012

Fallen Officers in Region 5 this year.

It is with a heavy heart I report the following deaths in the line of duty for Region 5.
Deputy Sheriff Randall L. Benoit, Calcasieu Parish Sheriffs Office, Louisiana was killed in an automobile accident at approximately 0800hrs on January 18th, 2012. He served with the Sheriff's Office for 18 years.
Corporal Barbara Ester with Arkansas Dept. of Corrections. She was stabbed to death by an inmate at the East Arkansas Regional Unit in Brickeys, Arkansas January 20, 2012. She had served with the for 12 years.
Police Officer Steven Green, Mobile, Alabama Police Dept was stabbed to death by a prisoner while being transported to the county jail on February 3, 2012. The suspect took the officers weapon and fled the scene. Officers pursued him and engaged in a shootout killing the suspect. He had served with Mobile P.D. for 20 months.
Reserve Deputy Don Williams, Dale County Sheriff's Office, Alabama died after a single vehicle accident on February 8, 2012. He had served as a reserve deputy for 17 years.
Detective David White, Clay County Sheriff's Office, Florida was shot and killed during a raid of a suspected drug house on February 16,2012. The suspect was shot and killed on scene by others officers as the suspect fled out the back door of the residence. He was a military veteran and served with Clay County for 9 years.
Deputy Sheriff Barbara Pill, Brevard County Sheriff's Office, Florida was shot and killed on March 6, 2012. She was stopping a vehicle wanted in connection with a stolen property call from a local motel. Two suspects were apprehended after a short vehicle pursuit. She had been in law enforcement for 30 years, 15 years with Brevard County S.O.
Keep their families, friends, co-workers and all first responders in your prayers!
Stay safe,

Monday, February 27, 2012

IAWP Election of Officers 1927 in Cleveland, Ohio

Hello members,
I found some interesting data from elections of officers in May 1927 from the annual Conference in Cleveland, Ohio. I feel that since we are during an election time it might be interesting to those members who are participating.
A amendment was passed for the addition of two Vice-Presidents and a Board of Directors. Miss Eleanor Hutzel, from Detroit Michigan was elected 1st Vice-President and Miss Dorothy Doan Henry from Cleveland, Ohio was elected 2nd Vice-President. The five Board of Directors elected were Miss Henrietta Additon from Philadelphia, PA., Lieutenant John Brandenburger, St. Louis, MO., Miss Jessie Binford, Chicago, Illinois, Dr. Katharine Bement Davis from New York City, and Miss Mary Driscoll from Boston, MA. These 5 represented the Executive Board.
Several regional Chairmen were selected as follows: Miss Anna B. Mangan from Lynn, MA., Mrs. Mary Sullivan from New York City, Miss Annette Steele from Knoxville, TN., Mrs Mable Rockwell from Chicago, IL., Mrs. Beulah McNeil from Kenosha, WI., Mrs. Inah M. Peterson from Witchita, Kansas, and Miss Martha Randall from Portland, OR.
Delegates from 40 cities and 26 states made the annual meeting the largest ever held by the Association. In July of 1927 the Association was incorportated under the laws of the District of Columbia.
This was obtained from the Journal of Social Hygiene Volume XIII 1927.
I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I found it!
email me if you want any further data that I have on hand.

Lt. Carol Scruggs (end of shift 6/25/2010)

Lt. Carol Scruggs (end of shift 6/25/2010)
Marshall County Sheriff's Department